The place to learn about your Mac. Tips and tutorials for novices and experts.

Tell Your iPad to Forget a Wireless Network


When you connect an iPad to a wi-fi network, the iPad remembers that network and will automatically attempt to connect to it in the future. This is a great feature for wi-fi networks you trust and use frequently. But mistakes happen. If you connect to the wrong network at a coffee shop, your iPad will automatically attempt to join that network every time you visit the coffee shop in the future. And if the password for a known network changes, your iPad might have trouble connecting to it.

What's the solution? Telling your iPad to forget the wi-fi network. Forgetting a network will remove the network's password and prevent your iPad from joining it automatically in the future.

Here's how to tell your iPad to forget a wireless network:

  1. From the home screen, tap Settings.

  2. Tap Wi-Fi. The window shown below appears.

  3. Locate the wireless network you want the iPad to forget, and then tap the blue arrow next to the network name. The window shown below appears.

  4. Tap Forget this Network. The iPad will forget the wireless network.

You have successfully told your iPad to forget the wi-fi network. The iPad will not attempt to connect to the network in the future. And if the network required a password, that password has been forgotten.

Related Articles


Meet Your Macinstructor

Matt Cone, the author of Master Your Mac, has been a Mac user for over 20 years. A former ghost writer for some of Apple's most notable instructors, Cone founded Macinstruct in 1999, a site with OS X tutorials that boasts hundreds of thousands of unique visitors per month. You can email him at: matt@macinstruct.com.


 
                          





Copyright © 1999-2014 Macinstruct LLC. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.