How to Erase Your iPad

  Matt Cone       August 11, 2021      Tutorials iPad


Are you considering selling your iPad or passing it down to a family member? You should erase your iPad before doing anything else. Erasing your iPad removes all of your apps, personal content, and settings and then resets your iPad to factory settings. Once you complete this process, the iPad can be set up from scratch, like a new iPad.

Here’s how to erase your iPad:

  1. From the home screen, tap the Settings icon.

  2. Tap General.

  3. Tap Reset.

  4. Tap Erase All Content and Settings.

    Erase your iPad

  5. If an alert appears asking if you want to update your iCloud backup, tap Backup Then Erase to update your backup before erasing the iPad.

Your iPad will be erased. When your iPad restarts, you’ll have the option to set it up as a new iPad or restore it from a backup.

Subscribe to our email newsletter

Sign up and get Macinstruct's tutorials delivered to your inbox. No spam, promise!


© 2021. A Matt Cone project. CC BY-NC-SA 4.0. Made with 🌶️ in New Mexico.