Tell Your Mac to Forget a Wireless Network

  Matt Cone       October 29, 2021      Tutorials Mac Network


When you connect a Mac to a wi-fi network, the Mac remembers that network and will automatically attempt to connect to it in the future. This is a great feature for wi-fi networks you trust and use frequently. But mistakes happen. If you connect to the wrong network at a coffee shop, your Mac will automatically attempt to join that network every time you visit the coffee shop in the future. And if the password for a known network changes, your Mac might have trouble connecting to it.

What’s the solution? Telling your Mac to forget the wi-fi network. Forgetting a network will remove the network’s password and prevent your Mac from joining it automatically in the future.

Here’s how to tell your Mac to forget a wireless network:

  1. From the Apple menu, select System Preferences.

  2. Click the Network icon, as shown below.

    Mac Wi-Fi network settings

  3. Click the Advanced button, as shown below.

    Mac Wi-Fi network settings

  4. Select the network you want to delete, and then click the button, as shown below.

    Deleting Mac Wi-Fi network settings

  5. Click the OK button.

  6. Click the Apply button.

You have successfully told your Mac to forget the wi-fi network. Your Mac won’t attempt to connect to the network in the future. And if the network required a password, that password has been forgotten.

Subscribe to our email newsletter

Sign up and get Macinstruct's tutorials delivered to your inbox. No spam, promise!


© 2021. A Matt Cone project. CC BY-NC-SA 4.0. Made with 🌶️ in New Mexico.